Fouling Plugs???

Q&A about routine maintenance.
TG2891

#1 Post by TG2891 »

For starters, I am a newbie at the C-dale thing. I am however fairly mechanically inclined and can usually figure out what the problem is. But this thing is driving me crazy. I can run my dale all day and not have one problem. Does not cut out, stall, spit and sputter or is hard to start when hot. But if it sits overnight, it will not start unless I put a new plug in it.
Here are some things I know about the machine and have noticed that might help
(1.) When I take the used plug out it is black. (2.) The quad is a '03 Speed but the ecm and the motor is from a Blaze (3.) The exhaust is a Speed stock exhaust, SS square style. (4.) I run 93 octane fuel. (5.) The air filter is clean w/fresh oil. (6.) The fuel filter is new and the screen in the tank is clear (7.) The FP appears to be working fine. (8.) I start it as indicated in the owners manual. Tap the button 3 times and then start.

Lastly, as I have been reading the threads, I have seen many references to settings in the ecm in regards to fuel delivery. (I am thinking that this is my problem) Is this something I could do or does it have to be sent out? If I could do it where do I get the equipment and what might it cost?

Oh by the way, the site is amazing.

Tom - Spotsylvania, VA

jesshamner

#2 Post by jesshamner »

That is your problem. You need the D&M kit to lean that baby out and do a throttle recal.

TG2891

#3 Post by TG2891 »

QUOTE (jesshamner @ Dec 4 2006, 05:50 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
That is your problem. You need the D&M kit to lean that baby out and do a throttle recal.

Thanks for the info. Do you have any idea where I may get a D&M and is it a contained all in one unit or something that is installed on a lap top and read through a cable?

One other thing. Do you think that having a ecm and motor from a Blaze with a stock Speed exhaust could be part of the problem?

cannondale27

#4 Post by cannondale27 »