Countershaft nut

Q&A about routine maintenance.
Kuma

#1 Post by Kuma »

I have been riding ATVs for over 20 years, I have never had a countershaft nut come off before, Friday it happened twice!
First time I was just riding back and forth around camp trying to get some AFR numbers, sprocket fell off and riding on the threads, no damage.
Borrowed a nut and lock washer from Rayspeed, from his spare machine, torqued the nut on bent the washer over one of the nut flats, everything is good.
Not, was out on a night ride, several miles out, same thing happened, no chance of finding the nut and washer. I was able to slide the sprocket back on the splines and rode it all the way back to camp.
Has anyone else had this experiance or heard of this happening? What was done to prevent it from happening again?

Canniboomer

#2 Post by Canniboomer »

Folding over 2 opposite sides of the spline washer will help.
But the sprocket might sometimes become a bit jiggly after a time.

Here's an alternative that I just posted:
http://www.cannondaleriders.com/forums/ind...showtopic=23463

Kuma

#3 Post by Kuma »

QUOTE (Canniboomer @ Oct 25 2009, 08:35 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Folding over 2 opposite sides of the spline washer will help.
But the sprocket will still become a bit jiggly in time.

This issue just came up twice here recently, and I have a new product (cure) for that....I'll post up soon.

Dave do you still have the stock setup as well as the new set up? I've got to see what type Ray would like his replaced with.

cannondale27

#4 Post by cannondale27 »

Is there excessive endplay in the countershaft?Only other thing I can think of is if it were overtorqued stripped?I use neversieze on mine and never had a problem.

claas900

#5 Post by claas900 »