I'm new to ATVing--Daily Checks?

Q&A about routine maintenance.
daericks

I'm new to ATVing--Daily Checks?

#1 Post by daericks »

I just acquired two new stock Cannibals. Haydug has helped me with a few thing but I wondering what needed to be checked on a regular basis. Do I need to check oil each time I ride? This will likely sound like a dumb question to most of you but the most mechanical thing I have done doesn't go much further than a lawnmower. I don't want to ruin my new investments.

Dan

EuroGOD

#2 Post by EuroGOD »

:clap: Congratulations and welcome to the family :usa

You're going to learn quite a lot over the next few weeks so take note and don't be afraid to ask questions....no matter how trivial they may be.

If you have been following the forums for some time, you will have seen the word "updates" used ever so frequently. These are some modifications and fixes that will help you to stop problems before they get the chance to appear.
Take a look around the site, a list of the factory updates can be found in the Dale Tech section above.

As for pre ride checks, these quads can vibrate bolts loose. I usually do a post-ride tighten/inspect after washing.
It is also good to check electrical connections and keep an eye for cables rubbing against the frame.

When starting the quad, DO NOT give it gas! This will flood the engine and you'll spend the next hour or so changing the plug...
Let the quad idle for a good minute or so. Don't worry here, the idle is supposed to be that high and the engine sounds like it has rocks in it!
Reach down and feel both radiator hoses. When they're both warm and soft then you know you're good to go.

If you pulled the quads from the crate, take a look under the seat....There's a free gift under there for you
smile.gif

Enjoy your flight!

cdrookie

#3 Post by cdrookie »