ATV - Riding Tips and Technique

badvox

ATV - Riding Tips and Technique

#1 Post by badvox »

No, I have no tip[s for you cause I suck... smile.gif

I know there are some great riders on here so I was wondering if there couldn't be a discussion on different techniques. I know its best to do teaching on the bike or quad but hey Im a pretty good student.

So, I ride mostly in the desert but would like to ride +30 Beg on track someday before it becomes +40 Sen Class. sad.gif

One of the areas I have alot of difficulty with is going downhill. I seem to stall my ATK alot going downhill. What is the proper way to approach downhill rides?

Small jumps? How does anyone learn to jump even small jumps?
What is the best approach for learning how to jump properly? I saw the pointers on the unfortuneate cdale crash post. Well maybe someone could start from the beginning?

Anyway just wanted to suggest a topic. C'Ya
Mike :drink:

jwheat

#2 Post by jwheat »

Learning to jump is fairly easy.

1. Start with small jumps with flat landings.
2. Roll through the jump the first time to get the feel for it.
3. When jumping it, approach it at a steady speed.
4. Stand with your knees slightly bent and your weight centered on the bike.
5. Slightly blip the throttle on the face of the jump to help keep the front-end up.

When you are comfortable with that type of jumping move on to a tabletop ( they're pretty safe also).

1. On a tabletop jump, do everything the same as above.
2. Keep hitting the jump with a little more speed each time until you are making the downslope.

Doubles are a little more advanced, but still no problem.

1. Start off just like a flat jump. Roll through the jump and get the feel of it.
2. Jump over the first part of the double and land in the middle.
3. Gradually jump a little further each time. This will help you get a better feel for how the jump is going to throw you and how fast you need to be going.