Should I pick up the Cannondale I have a deposit on?

drbowtie

Should I pick up the Cannondale I have a deposit on?

#1 Post by drbowtie »

I have had no knowledge of any of the Chapter 11 or the Cannondale ATV in general until I visited a showroom on Friday. I placed a deposit on an 03 Speed at a purchase price of $7400.00 and that is a lot of money for me to spend to:

A. Not have a factory
B. Not have parts availability
C. Not know if the vehicle would be fixable if it broke

Does anyone share my concern? The Honda dealer is right down the street and I know that I will be able to get a part for a 400ex and I could also get a Predator... I'll bet Polaris will be around for a while.

I do realize that the benefit to owning a Cannondale is unmatched performance, however... If it's a birdbath in my back yard because I can't get it repaired how much fun could it be?

I am suppose to pick it up on Monday and I sure would like some input from folks. You seem to have a better understanding of the current situation. It would just seem foolish for me to buy one now with what knowledge I do have.

AlaskaSpeed

#2 Post by AlaskaSpeed »

Honestly, if I was in your spot I wouldn't buy the Speed if you are that concerned. Things look good for the future from rumors we have heard, but it's different for the guys that already own the dales.

What dumbfounds me is why everyone has done nothing but bash the Cannondales since they were introduced, yet they flock to a brand new Polaris sport quad and Gas Gas that is also pretty much unproven. This is just insane to me...lol

Truth is that the horror stories you read about are the exception, not the rule and if you maintain your RACE quad like you should anyways; you won't have any problems. I have owned and raced my 2002 Speed for going on a year now and have never missed a weekend of racing or riding due to failure.