check your Crankshaft/Trans Cart bolts!!

4strokemadman

Crankshaft/Trans Cart bolts

#1 Post by 4strokemadman »

Guys,

I was an engineer for Cannondale. I would like to get a better handle on the problem so that when/if production starts back up we can thoroughly understand what is going on. E-mail me answers to the following questions:

1. Which bolts came loose on your machine (not your friends brothers cousin machine)?

2. Did you have the stud update kit installed?

3. Have the cartdridge plates ever been removed and re-installed?

4. Approximatly how many hours were on the machine?

5. What is your VIN number?

6. If the bolts came loose and you re-installed them did you notice any loctite on the bolts?

7. Have you re-installed bolts only to have them come loose again?

8. What type of riding do you primarily do (racing, trail riding etc..)?

9. Which model do you have?

Just to let you guys know the torque applied to these bolts is very important because the cartridge plates must seat properly. If they don't seat correctly then when you run the machine the plate will settle and the bolts will come loose.

BTW I don't know what the future of the company is, nobody will know until after the auction on March 20. I have my fingers crossed just like you guys that someone will come in and carry the torch.

p.hammerstrom@snet.net

Ryanstones

#2 Post by Ryanstones »

No problems with this stud/nut on my 02 Cann #20.

dawzie

#3 Post by dawzie »

I have a '02 cannibal #56. Walsh's Dad rebuilt this motor last April then I aquired the quad. I just got done removing the motor today. The 11 oclock ? trans bolt was loose. All others tight. I removed that bolt only and found no loctite. All the bolts are allen head. I have a stud kit that I am installing this week.

Ryanstones

#4 Post by Ryanstones »

c'mon guys, answer these questions!

drbowtie

#5 Post by drbowtie »