FX 400 Starting problem

Bring all of your questions about the Cannondale quad here!
cdale88

#1 Post by cdale88 »

here's the problem. Quad was running just stopped in the middle of riding. When I got home turned out the flywheel magnet was chewed up. The ring that is epoxyed to I guess hold it in was broken which allowed the magnet to ware. So I got a new Flywheel put it on and it still will not start. Now it has been about 1 month since it ran. Should I try some starting fluid to get it going. Also it has spark. I am new to cannondales not quads or bikes I am very good mechanically.What am I over looking. Iput in a new spark plug.I have an extra stator just in case.With the old chewed up flywheel it would almost start then die. I figured with the new flywheel I would just fire up. Any help please.

wistech

#2 Post by wistech »

Your crank bearing may have failed. Dont crank it anymore or your new flywheel will be toast as well. Check for up down play in the crank end.

cdale88

#3 Post by cdale88 »

QUOTE (wistech @ Jan 24 2008, 11:28 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Your crank bearing may have failed. Dont crank it anymore or your new flywheel will be toast as well. Check for up down play in the crank end.

Crank bearing is fine, either electrical or something I am missing.Like I said with old flywheel It started for a secong then died. Now with new flywheel does not even sound like it wants to start.Even though it has spark could the stator be bad.Oh I also have a new battery in.

cannondale27

#4 Post by cannondale27 »

Unplug the stator to eliminate it. Should still start and run without it plugged in. Then I would start with a compression check. Are you sure the key for the flywheel wasn't sheared and new flywheel is therefore not lined up right?

speed2424

#5 Post by speed2424 »

Spark, gas,compression & timing. Is it getting all of these?

cdale88

#6 Post by cdale88 »

QUOTE (speed2424 @ Jan 25 2008, 04:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>