head gasket

Bring all of your questions about the Cannondale quad here!
2smoker

#1 Post by 2smoker »

hi all, finally got me a cannondale. purchased the cannibal from nick this last weekend. he's had a lot of work done to this and it blew the head gasket or something was leaking coolant in the exhaust side. i'm pretty new to these things, but really like the cannondale's. i'm sure i'll have a lot of questions about how to take care of this engine along the way. any opinions on a direction to go with it?

kdeal

#2 Post by kdeal »

First, welcome!

Second, spend your money wisely and make sure your engine is fully updated.

Last, I doubt that you have a blown head gasket. Most likely it's a cracked cylinder sleeve.

Good luck

2smoker

#3 Post by 2smoker »

QUOTE (kdeal @ Aug 14 2013, 09:48 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
First, welcome!

Second, spend your money wisely and make sure your engine is fully updated.

Last, I doubt that you have a blown head gasket. Most likely it's a cracked cylinder sleeve.

Good luck

its had the z400 bearings in it. he said it had the 450 cp piston in it. i'm thinking about just tearing it completely apart and checking everything out on it. gotta learn all the updates etc on these things.

kdeal

#4 Post by kdeal »

You are most of the way there with those updates. Now the water leak is more mysterious. Does it have an aluminum valve cover or magnesium?

2smoker

#5 Post by 2smoker »

QUOTE (kdeal @ Aug 14 2013, 04:59 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You are most of the way there with those updates. Now the water leak is more mysterious. Does it have an aluminum valve cover or magnesium?

its got the aluminum valve cover on it .

kdeal

#6 Post by kdeal »

Need to pull the head and take a look. Are you sure the water leak is not coming from the bleed hole under the water pump cover?

2smoker

#7 Post by 2smoker »