Welding Frame - prep?

Shocks, a-arms, swingarms, tires, brakes, etc..
svahle

#1 Post by svahle »

The lower left sub-frame mounting tab has broken off my frame. I'm having it repaired (welded). Other than removing the ecu, is there anything else I need to do before it is welded? Remove the battery maybe? Thanks.

Shannon

SlOoT

#2 Post by SlOoT »

Drain the oil out of the frame.

svahle

#3 Post by svahle »

QUOTE (SlOoT @ Sep 11 2008, 02:36 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Drain the oil out of the frame.

Good point. Will do!

Anyone else have suggestions?

jesshamner

#4 Post by jesshamner »

So just drain the oil or should we flush it? I have a broken rear master cylinder tab that I need to have fixed at some point.

cannondale27

#5 Post by cannondale27 »

No need for oil draining since there is no oil anywhere near that.

svahle

#6 Post by svahle »

QUOTE (cannondale27 @ Sep 11 2008, 03:11 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No need for oil draining since there is no oil anywhere near that.

Are you responding to me or jess?

cannondale27

#7 Post by cannondale27 »

Jess.Lower left subframe mount there is oil fairly close.

svahle

#8 Post by svahle »

c27 - Thanks man. That's what I was thinking, but I'd rather feel silly and ask than to not ask. Gotta get the Moto ready for the next dune trip in October. Just trying to side step any avoidable setbacks.

Shannon

NRath

#9 Post by NRath »

IMO...