steering stem

Shocks, a-arms, swingarms, tires, brakes, etc..
guthrie08

steering stem

#1 Post by guthrie08 »

i never removed a steering stem and its probably easier then it looks but is there any tips i should know, does the air box have to be removed to get the steering stem out, thanks

guthrie08

#2 Post by guthrie08 »

also how do i get these tie-rods out, im a rookie lol

Cdale_racer_669

#3 Post by Cdale_racer_669 »

i havent taken one off before, but after putting the motorcycle horn in the airbox, im pretty sure that u will have to take the airbox off to take the steering stem out. not for sure tho, thats just what it looks like to me:drink:

wistech

#4 Post by wistech »

You need to remove the top of the airbox cover to change a stem. The tie rod bolts can be removed with a allen wrench on the ball side and a socket on the other. Turn the socket not the allen bit or the bit will snap. A propane torch might be needed to loosen the locktite on the nut if its really tight. Also the nut on the bottom of the stem has a cotter key in it so be sure to remove and reinstall it later. Be sure to grease the upper stem bearing with a good waterproof grease and locktite all the bolts.

guthrie08

#5 Post by guthrie08 »

thanks, another question, how do i get the balljoint out of the spindle, not out of the a-arm

cdalemx301

#6 Post by cdalemx301 »

your in for a fun time with those ball joints....i had to heat my spindles with a torch then take to hammers and at the same time hit the spindle on each side of the ball joint do it two or three times and it pops out,....be careful not to light the little rubber boots on fire tho lol

wistech

#7 Post by wistech »