Oil filter conversion

Engine, intake, exhaust, EFI, chain, sprockets, etc.
TheJaspMan

Oil filter conversion

#1 Post by TheJaspMan »

Has anyone ever thought about machining a replacement cover for the dale that would switch filters to something like a 400ex filter? Or has anyone seen one available?

Jaybr

#2 Post by Jaybr »

Aftermarket filters will be available in a couple weeks for under $5, so I'm not sure there is a big need to change it.

TheJaspMan

#3 Post by TheJaspMan »

Originally posted by Jaybr
Aftermarket filters will be available in a couple weeks for under $5, so I'm not sure there is a big need to change it.

That's cool. As much as I change my oil it was starting to look bad.

Brad77

#4 Post by Brad77 »

Does almost everyone's machines have the paper filters?

Both of my Cannondales have the metal filters that I have been recycling for two years now.

Jaybr

#5 Post by Jaybr »

I've got one of each, but I'm probably switching to paper on them both shortly.

I've been told that the paper filters do a much better job of filtering. I've also heard theory that alot of our crank bearing problems are from poor oil filtration. I'm not trying to lean anyone in one direction or another, just stating what I've heard.

TheJaspMan

#6 Post by TheJaspMan »

I am probably a little excessive about changing my oil. But with some of the research I am doing I have to use all new products each time or the tests don't make any sense.

I looked at the metal reusable filters. But I would worry about not getting all the small particles out and slowly loosing proper flow. The paper ones 'should' be cheaper than they are. My car oil filter only costs $7. It doesn't make any sense.

I can get 400ex filters for about $1.98. And they are very, very close to the cannondale size. I was hoping someone else had noticed and made a longer oil cap that would accomidate a little longer filter.

garysol1

#7 Post by garysol1 »